The zonal procedure

On 14 June 2011, Regulation (EC) No. 1107/2009 entered into force and replaced Directive 91/414/EEC. The regulation lays down the zonal procedure (zonal evaluation).

All Member States of the European Union were divided into 3 zones on the basis of comparable agricultural, phyto-sanitary and environmental (also climatological) conditions. Belgium was apportioned to the Central Zone, along with Germany, Luxembourg, Hungary, Ireland, Netherlands, Austria, Poland, Romania, Slovenia, Slovakia, Czech Republic and the United Kingdom.

For each zone, one Member State, the zonal Reporting Member State, (zRMS), assesses the complete core dossier. The other concerned Member States (cMS) evaluate the assessment of the zRMS. cMS incorporate the assessment where possible, taking into account any national requirements. This results in a more harmonised assessment and availability of plant protection products within the European Union. This procedure also results in a reduction of the administrative burden for both industry and for the competent authorities.

The new principle of the zonal evaluation was laid down in Art. 28 up to Art. 39 and annex I of Regulation (EC) No. 1107/2009. You can find detailed information in our guide.